Our Inspiration Word & Scripture Theme

Standard

We watched the Olympic opening ceremony and I was touched when the Refugee team, made up of ten refugees walked out. I also didn’t know this was South America’s first time to host the Olympics. We thought this opening ceremony was beautiful and amazing. And, if I’m understanding correctly, Rio de Janeiro’s national anthem is called, “Aquele Abraco”, which translates to “That Embrace”. Embrace, as in, hug or welcome.

Cloud 1 (1)

This past homeschool year, we did something we had never done before: we incorporated random weekly scripture verses which we tried to memorize, and I chose a yearly scripture theme as well, which was from our Doctrine and Covenants, section 88, verses 118-119:

And as all have not faith, seek ye diligently and teach one another words of wisdom; yea, seek ye out of the best books words of wisdom; seek learning, even by study and also by faith.

Organize yourselves; prepare every needful thing; and establish a house, even a house of prayer, a house of fasting, a house of faith, a house of learning, a house of glory, a house of order, a house of God.

As a new homeschool year is nearly upon us, I asked Marcus to choose our scripture theme and he selected one of his favorite verses from The Book of Mormon:

3Nephi2810

I’ll be explaining the context of this verse in a later post. It’s actually a beautiful and amazing scripture story. ♥ Something new (to us) that I thought we’d try this homeschool year, is to have an inspiration word. It’s something many homeschooling families seem to do, choose a word to inspire their year of learning together. Our word is (you guessed it), Embrace. For us, embrace will mean to adapt, nurture, nourish, affirm, appreciate, cultivate, seize and foster. I chose Embrace as our word because I am entering another chapter of motherhood. I’m thinking of calling it, “I am now only one child away from being an empty-nester and I don’t like it one bit!”, which seems rather lengthy and a bit negative, but that is how I feel. Can you see why I need this word?

Did you watch the opening ceremony? Do you have a word that is inspirational to you at this time of your life?

8 thoughts on “Our Inspiration Word & Scripture Theme

  1. That’s a lovely word and concept. I could use some practice in embracing life as it is!!!

    We keep those Doctrine and Covenants verses up year ’round here at our house. 🙂 It’s probably time for me to take them down and print them in a new font and post them in a different location so that we start paying attention to them again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a great idea, Anne. I’ll keep the D&C verses up, as they are my favorite. I wanted my son to choose a verse that has special meaning to him, but I had to tell him we wouldn’t use 1 Nephi 2:15! (That’s his go-to scripture, haha.) 😉

      Like

  2. “Embrace” is a wonderful theme for the year. While we don’t have a theme, we do memorize verses, although I’ve been pretty lax about it the past two weeks. Time to get things back in gear this week! As for the Olympics, we don’t have cable, but honestly, I’ve never really gotten into them (other than gymnastics and figure skating)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

