Weekend Nutshell

Standard
DSC03595

“If we approach adversities wisely, our hardest times can be times of greatest growth, which in turn can lead toward times of greatest happiness.” -Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin

Last Friday, on our way to Fairview, Utah, for the weekend, my oldest son, Zach, phoned us to say he had just been called in to see his still-new neurologist (new to my son, not new as a neurologist) right away. We took a detour to the hospital to meet up with Zach and join him for his second appointment with his neurologist, who confirmed his week-old diagnosis, based on our son’s recent spinal tap results and the results of his earlier MRI and of three rounds of blood work. At the age of 23, Zach has Multiple Sclerosis. That’s the shocking bad news. The good news is that it’s been caught early, treatment has already begun and nothing is wrong with his spine.

DSC03611

My talented cousin, Heather, made this amazing cake! The theme for my mother-in-law’s 80th birthday party was her travels around the world.

Saturday afternoon, we celebrated my mother-in-law’s 80th birthday with a three hour, surprise open house in her honor. It was a success with over 60 of her family, friends and neighbors attending.

DSC03721

Mother and Sons

DSC03612

Me and my lovely daughters

We stayed in Fairview, visiting David’s mom, until Sunday afternoon. Then we drove to Salt Lake, dropped the kids off at another birthday party, this time for my side of the family. Zach and I then dropped my husband off at the airport so he could return to his job in Arizona. Once back at the party, we didn’t stay long as Zach was tired and the kids and I had a two hour drive ahead of us. The kids and I are staying here in Utah for the next four weeks. ♥ Last night, Zach bravely posted about his MS on Facebook. Here is the link to his blog, Yo-yoing With Zed, if you would like to support him by following him.

18 thoughts on “Weekend Nutshell

    • Thank you. I hope so too. He’s made the choice to start off aggressively which is a little scary as there are more potential side effects so I’m hoping his are only minimal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

