A Happy Hearts Homeschool Day

Standard

This is our seventh year homeschooling and it’s bittersweet for me because it’s my last year with my beautiful daughter. She was recently accepted into the university of her choice and will be starting in the fall. I am really happy for her, but I sure am going to miss her. I’m so thankful we homeschool as I am cherishing every day of her senior year with her.

DSC03062

The morning view from our wee back porch.

I get up when my husband does, which is usually between 6:30 and 7:30 am. I make up his lunch and kiss him goodbye. Then I make myself a soothing cup of herbal tea and take it back to my bedroom where I cozy up with my scriptures and my journal. I love this peaceful, spiritual time. ♥  Marissa girl wakes up just in time to watch her online science class, streamed live at 8:30 am. I bring her a cup of herbal tea or hot chocolate and give her a morning hug before I shower, dress and start a load of laundry. ♥  Marcus usually wakes up between 8:30 and 9am. He begins his day the same way I do, with his scriptures. 🙂

DSC03375

We call this time our Morning Roundup

Sometime between 9:45 and 10:30 am, the three of us gather at the dining table for a hot breakfast. Then, we enjoy some time together. Lately we’ve been taking a morning walk. Sometimes we create art or listen to a Maestro Classic. We often read from our current read aloud. On Mondays we choose a scripture verse for the week and the kids write it out in their scripture journals.

DSC03288

Marcus and I watch his online classes at the dining room table.

Around 11:20 am, give or take a few minutes since it’s a live class, Marcus and I tune into his online history class. I enjoy this class as much as he does. I even take my own notes! (I am convinced Brother DeGraff is the best history teacher ever.) Marcus’ online science class follows, and Brother Lloyd really makes science fun. We usually snack during science.

DSC03292

Marissa’s online English class is the same time as her math. She wisely chooses to watch math live and her English recorded. That way her math teacher can help her during class. She can message him and he answers her questions on camera.

Meanwhile, Marissa watches her online math class, followed by her online history class, from the comfort of her bed. ♥ After both classes end, Marissa watches her English while Marcus and I tackle a math lesson together.

DSC03155

On Wednesdays this month, Marissa had an art class at a nearby art academy. She chose to focus on her sketching.

We end up eating lunch around 1:30 pm. Marissa sometimes eats her lunch in her room as she finishes up her assignments. After lunch, Marcus helps me tidy up the dining room and kitchen. ♥ For the remainder of the afternoon we do whatever we want. Sometimes we go swimming in the clubhouse pool. Sometimes we run errands. Sometimes we create art or make a craft. Sometimes we do a science lab. We usually read our own books.

DSC03282

We recently discovered some desert gardens only ten minutes away.

There are no online classes on Fridays so we often use that day to go on field trips or have a full day of science experiments or art. On Friday afternoons, Marcus is allowed to play Minecraft with a friend who lives in New York. ♥ David comes home anytime after 5 pm. We eat dinner as a family and usually watch a movie or some TV together. ♥ On Wednesday nights, the kids have youth activities at our church from 7 to 8:30 pm. ♥ We end our day with family scripture study and prayer. We try to be in bed by 10 pm.

♥  Linking up with Simple Homeschool. ♥ Thanks for reading! ♥

31 thoughts on “A Happy Hearts Homeschool Day

  1. I am always happy to find other homeschooler families with teens to see how they work. What a fun bonus to find that you’re LDS, too. 🙂 I’ll be back to peek into more of what happens in your homeschool.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like a lovely day! I like that you have so many online options! We don’t do any online classes now, but it is something I have thought about for when the kids get older. Congrats to your daughter for getting into her college of choice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. It was cool because she was accepted as a homeschooler and it was a smooth process. We love these online classes. They are actual classes at a private school, filmed live but also available recorded for the rest of the year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that your kids take so many on-line classes! What a great way to handle upper grades. I’m also so relieved to see that you rarely school past lunch; we are usually done by then too and I’m constantly told we’ll have to do more as the kids get older…. but I wasn’t really seeing that happening for us. We love our afternoons open to do what we want.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, we are living proof that just because kids are older doesn’t mean they have to cram more work into their school day! There is still something to be said for down time and I still believe they are learning all the time. I love that my teens have time to read independently, create art, take nature walks, etc. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      • I agree. It’s so nice to see a homeschooling family with older kids who still have time to breathe! It makes me very hopeful we can do the same as our kids get older.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen

    I love reading about other homeschool families of teens. Thank you for sharing your lovely day. Your schedule/rhythm seems calm and peaceful. Thanks for letting us take a peek inside your day.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Can you believe I will soon have three kids in college? I’m so glad my son still has five years at home with me, although I do feel a little sorry for him that he won’t have his big sister around. They are very close.

      Like

  5. Hi, Sorry I read this on the front page and couldn’t for the life of me figure out where the comments were, I apparently needed more coffee. 🙂 So I’ve re read it which shows how awesome it is 🙂 Again I love that you have time in your school day, even though they are higher grades. Very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s neat to read about your day with your teens. It sounds so relaxed, because they are so independent. I think you’ve inspired me to get more crafty. I enjoy doing projects with my daughter, but we haven’t made time for them lately.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you do! I am going to miss crafting with my daughter when she leaves home. My son isn’t into crafts as much, unless they are Minecraft related!

      Like

  7. This is the type of post that inspires people to homeschool! A nice mix of teacher and students learning together, enjoying each other’s company and tackling a variety of subject through online classes, IRL classes, reading and hands on activities! Your love of homeschooling shines right through! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Camie! Your days look so peaceful with older children. 🙂 You’ve inspired me! I’m holding onto the hope that our crazy days with little ones will mellow over time. Thanks for sharing a peek into your day!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This was a beautiful post. It sounds so relaxing but yet you accomplish so much in your day. I love the time you spend with your children. What a blessing! Thanks for sharing your homeschooling day. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

