The Hardest Part of Homeschooling For Me

Standard

I think Jamie and her contributors over at Simple Homeschool were inspired when they started a series where moms share their hardest part of their homeschool year. I debated what I wanted to share and the first thing that came to my mind was our rather unique lifestyle…

Collage (2)

For example, last year we moved back and forth between our permanent house in Utah and our temporary apartment in Peru (where my husband was employed at the time), twice, dividing our homeschool year into two-parts Utah and one-part Peru. It was a little nutty to say the least. I was toting curriculum back and forth in my suitcase, and each move meant settling in before we could attempt to pick up where we had left off. I had this whole idea of how I wanted that homeschool year to progress, but in the end I had to flow with our gypsy lifestyle, sometimes letting go of my perfect (only in my mind) plans.

At least this year we will be back and forth between neighboring states instead of two different countries! 😉

The truth is, we have embraced this way of life so it’s not the hardest part of my homeschooling. But I do think the two are related.

What’s hardest for me is that I have never had a support network for homeschooling except for my husband and my children.

I don’t have a single extended family member who cheers on my homeschooling. I don’t mind so much the silly concerns some have shared with me, but several have been openly critical (as recently as last week!) and that stings just a bit, especially since I have never critiqued anyone’s parenting. I am the sweet one in my family! I am the one who mails out Valentine and Halloween cards to my nieces and nephews.

And while I have some amazing friends who accept the fact that I homeschool (I think they see it as one of my quirks), I have never had a true homeschooling friend. In real life I’ve only known a handful of homeschooling moms and I guess we just didn’t click? We were more acquaintances than friends, and then of course, one or the other of us moved away.

We are the only homeschoolers in our home base neighborhood so we are a novelty there. I dread every conversation that comes up about our homeschooling because I feel like a bug under a microscope!

♥♥♥

I started this blog as a way to connect with other homeschooling moms out there. It’s not the same as having a real-life (what I mean is someone I personally know outside the virtual world of blogging) homeschooling friend, but it does help. I try to encourage and support other moms out there because I know homeschooling isn’t always easy, but I also know it’s worth it.

Most mornings I say a prayer of gratitude to my Heavenly Father and I often focus on the blessings of homeschooling, especially the extra time it gives me with my kids before they grow up and leave home.

I know I am blessed to have the love and support of my husband. He works hard to provide all we need temporally so that I can stay home with our kids and learn beside them. (I love learning beside them!)

Our lifestyle is unique and most of our family and friends don’t know what to make of it, but it’s ours and I treasure it.

6 thoughts on “The Hardest Part of Homeschooling For Me

  1. I know what it’s like, my family doesn’t support it either, in the country where I’m from, home schooling is like social services material! It’s perceived as child neglect! I live in England now, but whenever I take my son to visit my family in France, it stings a lot and I have to put up with many lectures and very offensive conversations in an attempt to bully me into putting him in school. It’s very unpleasant and sad as it gets in the way of us enjoying each other’s company and of them making the most of our stay to connect with their grandson… My mum once said to me that I didn’t send my son to school because I was too lazy and couldn’t be bothered to get out of bed early enough to take him there 😦 they don’t realise that homeschooling is much harder and demanding than putting them to school everyday! I think it s sad, because people like that get angry because you homeschooling trigger a pain in them… They probably wish they had made the most of their times with their kids instead of just doing sheepishly what everyone else is doing… I think it’s the case with my mum anyway, as she spent my whole childhood working a lot in jobs she hated… Coming back late every day and having only Sunday off, where she was too tired to do anything else but watch telly. I’m not judging here, she did what she thought was right at the time, or maybe she didn’t really think at all and just did what everyone else was doing… But I do think that there is an element of jealousy/ regret somewhere… Anyway, don’t worry you are doing a good job, you are doing it for the kids and that s all that matters. If they don’t understand, or support you, don’t worry, I do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Noemie, that is so sad! I’m glad you haven’t allowed your family to pressure you out of homeschooling. It’s a shame your mum can’t see the many benefits of homeschooling. She should be proud of her daughter for being such a hands-on mama. I just don’t get why our choice to homeschool is such a hot topic with some of our family members. Even though their criticism hurts, it’s important that we continue to do what we know is best for our children and that we remember that we don’t have to answer to them for it. Thank you for sharing your story. I support you, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. almostunschoolers

    The criticism and concerns from family can definitely be one of the hardest things about the homeschooling year. We’re getting a double whammy because our oldest has decided to work through a college program online. The questions we’re fielding about it – and the undercurrents of family gossip getting back to us – wow! It’s like starting homeschooling all over again. The blogosphere has been a very nice place for finding kindred spirits, homeschooling inspiration, and support – a gathering of the garden gnomes, I guess 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

