Reflecting Back (2014-2015 Homeschool Year)

Standard

So far it’s been a busy summer, but I am finally to the point where I can actually sit down and plan Marcus’ next homeschool year. My little boy will be in 7th grade. It seems like only yesterday, he was 6 and our homeschooling journey was just beginning. Where did the time go? Why do our children have to grow up so fast?

Marcus 2 Yesterday- 6-years old

DSCN5221 Today- 12-years old

It always helps me to start my planning by first reflecting on the most recent homeschool year. That way I can see all that we accomplished and what we didn’t get around to doing that we’d still like/need to do.

This past homeschool year was our craziest one yet! We started out in Utah which is our home-base. (We choose not to live in our house here year-round because my husband’s job is not here and we miss him too much when we live apart). The kids and I spent last September through November in Utah so Marissa could take driver’s ed. Then we moved back to Lima, Peru just before Thanksgiving, but we only ended up living there another three months before the project wrapped up and the company moved us out of Peru. (After July sometime we’ll be moving to Arizona to join my husband there. The kids are in summer camps here and the last one is the last week of July).

DSCN3533

Despite those two major moves, I feel we accomplished a lot. As far as books go, Marcus read through the entire Percy Jackson series on his own. Together, he and I read the classics, Old Yeller, Oliver Twist and The Hobbit. As part of his distance reading class, he experienced some amazing stories I would’ve never thought to introduce him to. My favorite was, Unbroken, (the young adult adaptation). His distance teacher, Sister Rowley, read these stories aloud to his class, and usually we would purchase each book on my Nook or Marcus’ Kindle to read along.

The other stories were- Small Steps: The Year I Got Polio, by Peg Kehret; Touching Spirit Bear, by Ben Mikaelsen; The Bronze Bow, by Elizabeth George; Breaking Stalin’s Nose, by Eugene Yelchin; Twenty and Ten, by Claire Huchet Bishop; and Hitler’s Canary, by Sandi Toksvig.

427212

For Science, Marcus explored physics. He did a lot of fun science experiments like this one and this one.

Marcus wrote a LOT of 5-paragraph essays this past year! His writing improved by leaps and bounds. 🙂

9780794526887_p0_v1_s260x420

His distance history class covered world history, starting with the Sumerians (5000BC-2000BC), and including the Egyptians, ancient Greece, early China, the rise of Rome, continuing all the way through both World Wars. With each period of history, Marcus made a craft or artwork. My favorites were these-

DSCN4703

DSCN2611

For math, Marcus learned fractions, decimals, percentages, etc. through The Learn Math Fast System, which we really like.

Marcus also mapped the oceans, continents and several countries of the world. One thing I kept meaning to do, but never made the time for, was an Around the World in 80 Days geography unit. I actually packed the Jules Verne novel and the miniseries on DVD with Pierce Bronsan in my suitcase to Peru, and then repacked it three months later, both times with the plan to actually get to it. So, on Monday, we are finally starting that unit. I’d start it tomorrow, but Marcus is at scout camp this week. 🙂

Stay tuned for my planning post where I’ll share my dreams for a new homeschool year, here at Happy Hearts. ♥

2 thoughts on “Reflecting Back (2014-2015 Homeschool Year)

  1. The Bronze Bow was definitely a favorite. Glad to hear there are other moms with good intentions. I’m determined to make this one happen sooner or later. Thanks for the comment and for visiting. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

