Weekly Nutshell

Standard
2-3-2015 (7)

Not a lot of grass and flowers grow here in Lima, but they do take pride in the landscaping of their park areas.

I am so proud of us this week because we managed to get outside for a walk nearly every day. This is how the parks here are landscaped, with shaped flower beds. On Monday, the sweetest thing happened (at least I think so as a mom). My 19-year old daughter Skyped her 12-year old brother and the first thing she said was, “I want to hear all about your boys camp.” (Marcus had boys camp last week.) My heart just melted.

2-3-2015 (1)

This picture shows the front of our corner apartment complex here in Lima, Peru. We are on the first floor so our view is partially blocked by the high wall. In fact, we see more of the tops of those two little trees than anything else, but it’s a lovely apartment and we have a little pool so we can’t complain.

On Tuesday, Marcus made this drag race car out of disposable coffee cups-

Wednesday was a bit exhausting for me because two Peruvian women came over, one representing me and the other representing the owners of this apartment. Together they checked off an inventory of our landlord’s belongings (they left their furniture and their kitchen fully stocked for us to use). This was done in preparation for our move back to the states at the end of this month. It took them four hours to complete their inventory, especially since we had to account for each and every single item from silverware to towels to lamps and couches.

2-3-2015 (5)

One example of the Catholic influence here. There are statues of the Virgin Mary with the Christ child in many of the parks.

On Thursday as we were watching, Hugo, this quote stood out to me-

“I’d imagine the whole world was one big machine. Machines never come with any extra parts, you know. They always come with the exact amount they need. So I figured if the entire world was one big machine… I couldn’t be an extra part. I had to be here for some reason.”

2-3-2015 (6)

Here in Peru we see these little guard shacks everywhere. We see men sitting in them all the time, keeping watch over a street or a building or a house. They sit on a stool and sometimes they have a little TV to watch, or a newspaper to read.

♥♥♥

Now it’s Friday. All week long I’ve been reading Day in the Life posts of other homeschooling families (similar to the one I posted earlier this week). I think all moms and dads who homeschool are amazing for choosing to take a different path with their children’s educations than what the world expects us to do. We are all doing what we believe to be best for our children and our families.

Not long ago, I was searching the scriptures when I came across this verse in Doctrine and Covenants that really spoke to me as a mom, especially as a homeschooling mom.

Untitled

It made me realize that I am giving my children something that they will never get from a government school- light and truth.

light

2 thoughts on “Weekly Nutshell

  1. Light & truth – so true! One of the funny things I’ve realized since homeschooling is how many of the families are kind of like little “rebels.” I guess you need to be to go against the grain and chart a different course. It’s fun to be among a group like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

